New to radios

Schwarz433

Lurker (.22LR)
I recently picked up a baofeng radio, and I’m looking to get it programmed for long range stuff. Repeaters and whatnot. I have the chirp software and the cord, but I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong. I hear people, but they can’t hear me. Any help would be appreciated.

MAC702

I don't believe in the no-win scenario
Forum Supporter
2020 Supporter
2021 Supporter
2022 Supporter
2023 Supporter
Did you get it new or used? Is there a troubleshooting section in your manual? What model is it? What exact settings are you using?

Schwarz433

Lurker (.22LR)
Did you get it new or used? Is there a troubleshooting section in your manual? What model is it? What exact settings are you using?
It’s the uv5r-tp. I’m not sure which “exact” settings I’m using. I’m still new to this whole thing.

jlv10

Member (9mm)
Forum Supporter
2023 Supporter
2024 Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
What band are you trying to operate on? Do you have your ham license?

titanNV

NRA Endowment Member
Staff member
Administrator
Forum Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
I venture to guess most areas in Vegas would be able to hit a Vegas or Potosi repeater.

We'd need more specifics.
You a ham or gmrs license holder?
Approximate location (cross streets would be helpful so we can know what repeaters you should be able to hit)
If you are trying to Tx from inside a building you aren't gonna get very far with the standard rubby ducky (no lucky) antenna.

you are welcome to email me your CHIRP file (nevadashooters at gmail) and I can see if I see any reason why it wouldn't hit anything.

I can hit Potosi repeaters from Vegas with my UV5R and the rubber duck antenna (not very cleanly though)

Schwarz433

Lurker (.22LR)
I venture to guess most areas in Vegas would be able to hit a Vegas or Potosi repeater.

We'd need more specifics.
You a ham or gmrs license holder?
Approximate location (cross streets would be helpful so we can know what repeaters you should be able to hit)