Nevada Shooters

Go Back   Nevada Shooters > The Armory > Long Guns

Notices

Long Guns Rifles of all shapes and sizes...evil black rifles (EBR's), carbines, hunting rifles, shotguns, black powder, military surplus...talk about it here.

User Tag List

Old 02-27-2012, 12:23 PM   #1
JCIN
uber Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Savage 10 FCP-SR and Vortex Viper PST 4x-16x FFP Mil/Mil Initial Review

Thought I would post a review of my initial impressions of the Savage 10 FCP-SR rifle and the Vortex Viper PST 4x-16x FFP Mil/Mil scope.

Let me start by saying I am a long time pistol guy, recent AR guy and complete noob when it comes to precision rifles. I read a lot online and have read several threads here as well as more than a few long nights on SnipersHide plus the mandatory Magpul AOTPR DVD's. I have been sniffing around the long range thing for awhile and quite frankly looking for an entry that made the most sense for me. So on to how I got what I got.....

This whole project kind of started on accident. I went to New Frontier Armory to check out the Nightforce scopes they have in stock with an eye towards picking one up for an AR I have and eventually moving it to a .308 to be named later. I noticed a bolt gun on the wall complete with a 10 round DBM already installed. This caught my eye and I as looked closer I saw a fluted, threaded barrel, installed scope rail, oversize bolt handle and a pretty cool looking desert digi-cam stock. Then I saw the price was less than what a 700 AAC and just bottom metal kit would be and I got real interested real quick.