Nevada Shooters

Go Back   Nevada Shooters > Main Room > General Conversation

Notices

General Conversation The place to discuss topics NOT firearm related. ** Make sure the topic in question does not belong in another section before posting. **

User Tag List

Old 09-02-2017, 05:14 AM   #1
Ron_O
Obsessed Member

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thumbs up Texas Flood Relief & Oath Keepers!

When the hurricane first hit we were going to try to pull a boat down to help out. I'm a former firefighter and that kind of stuff is right in my wheelhouse. We were in Texas on a trip to Florida a few months ago and making the drive is not a problem.

But plenty of Texas locals have brought their boats in so no need to haul from Las Vegas. I actually wanted to run supplies down to the more isolated towns that were caught in the eye of the hurricane, such as Rockport and surrounding areas. Those towns were hit hard and about 40% of the people stayed in town rather than evacuate. Now they're left without electricity and basic food, gas, and water supplies.

So a friend in California just announced that he want's to donate 60 cases of MRE's to the cause but needs someone to haul them down. I volunteered.

In the meantime I've been getting updates from Oath Keepers about their rescue needs and efforts. They are saturating an area north of Houston and meeting in the town of Livingston. They've put out a Call to Action for several types of supply needs and volunteers.

So I've been in touch with them and one of the things on their list is a desperate need for MRE's and fuel! I plan to haul the MRE's down in the van and pick up a bunch of new fuel cans so I can haul them in a trailer and make fuel runs back and forth from ground zero. I'll use the van to shuttle supplies and people wherever needed.

I have to run to California in the morning to pick up the MRE's, then load up and head east with the supplies.